Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Panel of Judges

jack mitchell

Jack W. Mitchell joined the School of Journalism & Mass Communication faculty in January 1998 after a 30-year career in public radio. He is author of Listener Supported: The Culture and History of Public Radio in and Wisconsin on the Air: 100 Years of Public Broadcasting in the State that Invented It. In December 2009, Mitchell moved to emeritus status, but continues to teach courses, and serve on the boards of the Wisconsin Center for Journalism Ethics and the Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism.

Judy Frankel

A native of Montreal, Quebec Canada, Judy Frankel has worked as a journalist and media professional for more than twenty years.  Columnist, reporter, editor, and news manager, Judy has a worked in news media outlets in Toronto (CBLT), Vancouver (BCTV) and New York prior to moving to Wisconsin. Since moving to Madison in 2001, she has written and edited for a variety of publications including The Capital Times, Madison Magazine, Wisconsin Trails, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Business Magazine and the UW Business Wire. Familiar with the inner workings of broadcast and print mediums as a news manager, Judy has held senior management positions at ANEW Magazine and WKOW TV Inc. in Madison, Wisconsin. Currently the Director of PR and Communications, she  handles all PR, Communications and social media work for the Greater Madison Convention & Visitors Bureau and Madison Area Sports Commission, a position she has proudly held since 2011. Frankel is proud to serve on the Anthony Shadid Ethics Committee panel as award administrator and judge.

Lucas Graves

Lucas Graves is an Assistant Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. His research focuses on new organizations and practices in the emerging news ecosystem, and more broadly on the challenges digital networks pose to established media and political institutions. His book Deciding What’s True: The Rise of Political Fact-Checking in American Journalism came out in 2016 from Columbia University Press. Graves is affiliated with UW’s Holtz Center for Science & Technology Studies and with the Center for Communication and Democracy. He has been a research fellow at the New America Foundation in Washington, DC, and the Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy at Columbia University in New York. His research has been supported by the American Press Institute, the Poynter Institute, the Duke Reporters’ Lab and the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism.

marty kaiser

Marty Kaiser is a journalism consultant specializing in leadership, digital innovation, ethics, investigative reporting and editing. He was Editor/Sr. Vice President of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel from 1997 to 2015. Under his leadership, the Journal Sentinel earned a national reputation for its journalism and digital innovation. Kaiser’s newsroom won three Pulitzer Prizes and was honored as a finalist six other times. In 2009, Editor & Publisher magazine named Kaiser Editor of the Year. He was  president of the American Society of News Editors 2009-2010. In addition to the Journal Sentinel, he worked for the Baltimore Sun, Chicago Sun-Times and Florida newspapers in Sarasota and Clearwater. He earned his bachelors at The George Washington University and completed the Northwestern University Kellogg Graduate School of Management Executive Program.

karen michel

Karen Lincoln Michel is interim publisher and editor-in-chief of Madison Magazine and is president of the Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism Board of Directors. Karen has spent much of her career in newspapers, where she held jobs from reporter to top editor. She is a former executive editor of The Daily Advertiser in Lafayette, Louisiana, and an assistant managing editor of the Green Bay Press-Gazette.  Karen started in newspapers at the La Crosse Tribune and went on to The Dallas Morning News in Texas. From 1987 to 2005, she was a part-owner of News From Indian Country, a bi-monthly newspaper published in northern Wisconsin. She has written extensively about Native American issues as a freelancer and was a columnist for The New York Times Syndicate. Karen is a past president of UNITY: Journalists for Diversity and a past president of the Native American Journalists Association. Karen has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Stout and a master’s degree from Marquette University. She is a member of the Ho-Chunk tribe in Wisconsin.